2012 FFCC Award Winners


December 18, 2012: Ben Affleck’s Argo was the overwhelming winner of the Florida Film Critics Circle’s (FFCC) annual awards, taking home prizes for Best Picture, Best Director for Affleck and Adapted Screenplay for Chris Terrio.

Argo was the only film to win more than one award. Daniel Day-Lewis won Best Actor for Lincoln (he previously won for Gangs of New York and There Will Be Blood), while Philip Seymour Hoffman, who was previously recognized by the group for his work in Capote, won Supporting Actor for his performance as a charismatic cult leader in The Master.

Jessica Chastain won Best Actress for Kathryn Bigelow’s hunt-for-Bin Laden drama Zero Dark Thirty, and Anne Hathaway won Supporting Actress for her emotional portrayal of Fantine in Les Miserables.

Roger Deakins had previously won the FFCC’s Cinematography honor for The Man Who Wasn’t There in 2001, and he won again this year for Skyfall. And in a mild upset, Rian Johnson won Original Screenplay for Looper.

In other awards, The Intouchables won a close race over Amour for Foreign Language Film, Frankenweenie took Animated Film and The Queen of Versailles was hailed as the best Documentary. The FFCC also honored the Art Direction/Production Design team from Anna Karenina and the Visual Effects unit from Life Of Pi.

And for a performance that generated Oscar buzz when Beasts of the Southern Wild was released over the summer, eight year-old Quvenzhané Wallis won the Pauline Kael Breakout Award.


Full List of Winners

Best Film:



Best Director:

Ben Affleck – Argo


Best Actor:

Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln


Best Actress:

Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty


Best Supporting Actor:

Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master


Best Supporting Actress:

Anne Hathaway – Les Miserables


Best Adapted Screenplay:

Chris Terrio – Argo


Best Original Screenplay:

Rian Johnson – Looper


Best Cinematography:

Roger Deakins – Skyfall


Best Visual Effects:

Life of Pi


Best Art Direction/Production Design:

Thomas Brown and Sarah Greenwood – Anna Karenina


Best Foreign Language Film:

The Intouchables – France


Best Animated Film:



Best Documentary:

The Queen of Versailles


Pauline Kael Breakout Award:

Quvenzhané Wallis – Beasts of the Southern Wild


Comments are closed.