2022 FFCC Nominations

Everything Everywhere All at Once was the little indie that could in 2022. The Daniels’ genre-hopping multiverse saga far exceeded box office expectations and is also all over the Florida Film Critics Circle nominations, securing ten in all. Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert secured both writing and directing nominations for their efforts, while Michelle Yeoh and Stephanie Hsu are nominated for lead actress and supporting actress respectively. A big surprise was the return of Ke Huy Quan. Most people remember him as Short Round in Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom and Data in The Goonies. He’d been out of the acting game for decades but made a big splash here for a Best Supporting Actor nomination.

Steven Spielberg told a personal story this year with The Fabelmans. The legendary filmmaker reached out to his sisters before making this domestic drama, since it details many intimate aspects as he was growing up and developed his interest in movies. The gamble paid off, as the film is second in the numbers of nominations with the FFCC, totaling eight. It should come as no surprise as one of those nominations was Best Director as well as Best Original Screenplay that he shares with Tony Kushner. Michelle Williams is also nominated for Best Actress playing the mother of the family while Paul Dano got one for Best Supporting Actor for his role as the father. John Williams, in what may be his last collaboration with Spielberg, earned a nom for Best Score.

Non-English language films typically only come away with one nomination, but Park Chan-wook’s Decision to Leave snagged seven, including Best Picture, Best International Film, Director and Original Screenplay. Stars Park Hae-il and Tang Wei are also nominated in Best Actor and Best Actress respectively. Kim Ji-yong also was recognized for his cinematography work.

Other films securing multiple nominations were the powerful dramas Tár and Aftersun with five nominations apiece. Besides being up for Best Picture and Best Director, Charlotte Wells is also up for Best First Film. Austin Butler turned many heads this past summer with his portrayal of Elvis Presley in Elvis, and he is up for both Best Actor and Breakout Award.

For this year’s Golden Orange, FFCC singled out filmmaker Ondi Timoner and the historic Polk Theatre in Lakeland.

You can see all the films up for awards this year below and tune in on December 22 as the Critics Circle will announce the winners.

Best Picture


Decision to Leave

Everything Everywhere All at Once


The Fabelmans

Best Actor

Austin Butler – Elvis

Colin Farrell – The Banshees of Inisherin

Brendan Fraser – The Whale

Park Hae-il – Decision to Leave

Paul Mescal – Aftersun

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett – Tár

Danielle Deadwyler – Till

Michelle Williams – The Fabelmans

Tang Wei – Decision to Leave

Michelle Yeoh – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Actor

Paul Dano – The Fabelmans

Brendan Gleeson – The Banshees of Inisherin

Ke Huy Quan – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Actress

Jessie Buckley – Women Talking

Kerry Condon – The Banshees of Inisherin

Jamie Lee Curtis – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Nina Hoss – Tár

Stephanie Hsu – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Ensemble


The Banshees of Inisherin

Everything Everywhere All at Once

The Fabelmans

Best Director

Park Chan-wook – Decision to Leave

Todd Field – Tár

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Steven Spielberg – The Fabelmans

Charlotte Wells – Aftersun

Best Original Screenplay

The Banshees of Inisherin – Martin McDonagh

Decision to Leave – Park Chan-wook, Jeong Seo-Gyeong

Everything Everywhere All at Once – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert

The Fabelmans – Steven Spielberg, Tony Kushner

Tár – Todd Field

Best Adapted Screenplay

Three Thousand Years of Longing – George Miller, Augusta Gore (based on “The Djinn in the Nightingale’s Eye” by A.S. Byatt)

Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio – Guillermo del Toro, Matthew Robbins, Gris Grimly, Patrick Hale (based on the characters and novel by Carlo Collodi)

She Said – Rebecca Lenkiewicz (based on the book by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, and the New York Times investigation by Kantor, Twohey and Rebecca Corbett)

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery – Rian Johnson (based on characters written by Johnson)

Women Talking – Sarah Polley (based on the novel by Miriam Toews)

Best Cinematography

Decision to Leave – Kim Ji-yong

Empire of Light – Roger Deakins

The Fabelmans – Janusz Kamiński

Top Gun: Maverick – Claudio Miranda

Best Visual Effects

Avatar: The Way of Water

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness

Everything Everywhere All at Once


Top Gun: Maverick

Best Art Direction/Production Design


Crimes of the Future



Best Score

Babylon – Justin Hurwitz

Empire of Light – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Everything Everywhere All at Once – Son Lux

The Fabelmans – John Williams

Nope – Michael Abels

Best Documentary

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed


Fire of Love

Good Night Oppy

Moonage Daydream

Best International Film

Decision to Leave



Saint Omer

Best Animated Feature

Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio


Marcel the Shell with Shoes

Turning Red

Best First Film

Aftersun – Charlotte Wells

Causeway – Lila Neugebauer

Emily the Criminal – John Patton Ford

You Won’t Be Alone – Goran Stolevski

Breakout Award

Austin Butler – Elvis

Anna Cobb – We’re All Going to the World’s Fair

Frankie Corio – Aftersun

Stephanie Hsu – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Comments are closed.