Marriage Story leads 2019 Florida Film Critics Awards Nominations

Winners to be announced December 23

After experiencing a year of excellent commercial fare and challenging independent and foreign releases, The Florida Film Critics Circle presents our top nominees in 19 categories.

Leading the pack in seven categories is an examination of the heartbreaking toll of divorce, Marriage Story, which is nominated for Best Picture. Leads Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson received acting nods, as did Laura Dern in the supporting category. The entire cast is also in the running for Best Ensemble. Meanwhile, director Noah Baumbach got a nod for his screenplay and Randy Newman for Best Score. 

Coming in second place is a four-way tie between Ad Astra, 1917,  Portrait of a Lady on Fire and The Farewell with five nominations each. Martin Scorsese’s gangster epic The Irishman, however, didn’t fare as popularly, as is the trend, with only four nominations. Significantly, Scorsese fell short of receiving a nomination in directing in a rare three-person contest. The nominations for other directors were so spread out that no one could match the interest in this trio. It’s also significant to note that two women are up for the recognition against Sam Mendes for his war epic 1917: Céline Sciamma for her French-language romantic drama Portrait of a Lady on Fire and Greta Gerwig for her adaptation of Little Women.

Along with Driver, as seems to be the trend, both Taron Egerton and Joaquin Phoenix earned nominations for Best Actor for their lead performances in Rocketman and Joker, respectively. They face off against Adam Sandler in Uncut Gems, a film not yet in wide release; Antonio Banderas for his Spanish language performance in Pain and Glory; and, in a surprise, Franz Rogowski for Transit.

Charlize Theron and Renée Zellweger will compete for Best Actress against Johansson for their performances in Bombshell and Judy, respectively. Rounding out the Best Actress nominees are Elisabeth Moss for Her Smell and Midsommar’s Florence Pugh, also in the running for the Pauline Kael Breakout award for a triple threat of noteworthy performances this year that also includes Fighting With My Family and Little Women

For a look at other trends for the FFCC this year, see the complete list of all the nominees below. The winners will be announced on Monday, December 23rd.

The Florida Film Critics Circle is an organization of 24 writers from Florida-based print and online publications. Founded in 1996, the FFCC strives to recognize outstanding work in film, further the cause of good movies, and maintain the highest level of professionalism among film critics in Florida. Hans Morgenstern of and Miami New Times has served as chair of the organization since May 2018.

Best Picture

Ad Astra
Marriage Story
Portrait of a Lady on Fire
The Irishman

Best Actor

 Adam Driver, Marriage Story
 Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems
 Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
 Franz Rogowski, Transit
 Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
 Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Best Actress

Charlize Theron, Bombshell
Elisabeth Moss, Her Smell
Florence Pugh, Midsommar
Renée Zellweger, Judy
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story

Best Supporting Actor

 Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
 Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
 Joe Pesci, The Irishman
 John Lithgow, Bombshell
 Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Best Supporting Actress

 Annette Bening, The Report
 Isla Fisher, The Beach Bum
 Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
 Laura Dern, Marriage Story
 Margot Robbie, Bombshell
 Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
 Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Best Ensemble

 Little Women
 Marriage Story
 The Farewell
 The Irishman

Best Director

 Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
 Greta Gerwig, Little Women
 Sam Mendes, 1917

Best Original Screenplay

 Bong Joon-Ho and Han Jin-Won, Parasite
 Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
 Lulu Wang, The Farewell
 Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story
 Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
 Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie, Uncut Gems

Best Adapted Screenplay

 Anthony McCarten, The Two Popes
 Greta Gerwig, Little Women
 Micah Fitzerman-Blue and Noah Harpster, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
 Steven Zaillian, The Irishman
 Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit
 Terrence Malick, A Hidden Life

Best Cinematography

 Claire Mathon, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
 Hoyte Van Hoytema, Ad Astra
 Jörg Widmer, A Hidden Life
 Roger Deakins, 1917

Best Visual Effects

 Ad Astra
 Avengers: Endgame
 Alita: Battle Angel

Best Art Direction/Production

 Barbara Ling, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
 Kevin Constant, Christa Munro, Alison Sadler, David Scott and Gary Warsaw, Ad Astra
 Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales, 1917

Best Score

 Daniel Lopatin, Uncut Gems
 Hildur Guðnadóttir, Joker
 Max Richter, Ad Astra
 Randy Newman, Marriage Story
 Thomas Newman, 1917

Best Documentary

 American Factory
 Apollo 11
 The Biggest Little Farm

Best Foreign Language Film

 Long Day’s Journey Into Night
 Pain and Glory         
 Portrait of a Lady on Fire      
 The Farewell                     

Best Animated Film

 Frozen 2
 How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
 I Lost My Body
 Toy Story 4
 Weathering With You

Best First Film

 Queen & Slim
 The Last Black Man in San Francisco

Breakout Award

 Florence Pugh, Midsommar, Fighting With My Family and Little Women
 Honor Swinton Byrne, The Souvenir
 Lulu Wang, The Farewell
 Roman Griffin Davis, Jojo Rabbit

Comments are closed.