2011 FFCC Award Winners


December 19, 2011 – Alexander Payne’s touching drama The Descendants was the big winner at the Florida Film Critics Circle’s (FFCC) annual honors, taking home prizes for Best Picture, Supporting Actress (Shailene Woodley) and Adapted Screenplay (Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash).

No other film won more than two awards. Michael Fassbender won Best Actor for his portrayal of a sex addict in Shame, Michelle Williams won Best Actress for her turn as Marilyn Monroe in My Week with Marilyn, and Albert Brooks won Best Supporting Actor for his performance as a Mafioso in Drive.

Martin Scorsese won Best Director for Hugo, and the film was also honored for its Art Direction/Production Design (Dante Ferretti). Michael Hazanavicius won Best Original Screenplay for his critically acclaimed silent film The Artist, which finished a close second behind The Descendants for Best Picture.

In other awards, The Skin I Live In won for Best Foreign Language Film, The Adventures of Tintin took Best Animated Film and Project Nim was hailed as the Best Documentary. Technical awards went to Emmanuel Lubezki for his cinematography in The Tree of Life and the visual effects team for Rise of the Planet of the Apes.

Martha Marcy May Marlene star Elizabeth Olsen won the Pauline Kael Breakout Award.



Best Picture:

The Descendants


Best Director:

Martin Scorsese – Hugo


Best Actor:

Michael Fassbender – Shame


Best Actress:

Michelle Williams – My Week with Marilyn


Best Supporting Actor:

Albert Brooks – Drive


Best Supporting Actress:

Shailene Woodley – The Descendants


Best Adapted Screenplay:

Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash – The Descendants


Best Original Screenplay:

Michael Hazanavicius – The Artist


Best Cinematography:

Emmanuel Lubezki – The Tree of Life


Best Visual Effects:

Rise of the Planet of the Apes


Best Art Direction/Production Design:



Best Foreign Language:

The Skin I Live In


Best Animated Film:

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn


Best Documentary:

Project Nim


Pauline Kael Breakout Award:

Elizabeth Olsen – Martha Marcy May Marlene

Comments are closed.